Posted by: alwaysrkp | April 1, 2009

Bushes, Trees and Sod, Oh My!

Nellie Stevens Holly (can anyone say “prickly”?)

Spiral Emerald Green Thuja (no way am I paying $240 each for those)

More Nellie Stevens Holly (still prickly)

False Cypress Gold Mops (small & cheap but pretty)

Cryptomeria Yoshino (Also known as Yoshino Japanese Cedars) – these are good, I think

and one Autumn Blaze Maple that my man would like

These are the green things that our potential landscaper wants to put in my yard (along with dirt, gravel, mulch, seed and sod) – and with a potentially huge “natural area” – I abhor “natural areas”. To me, there’s nothing natural about them. Grass is natural. I am wondering if this man has children, b/c prickly holly bushes and large backyard natural areas do not mix with young BOYS.

To give the poor guy some credit – he is picking things that root deeply and quickly so that our yard does not wash away (we have quite a large slope). But prickly and ugly mulch?

He seems to know what he is talking about and seems to be thorough; I just do not want to have to pick out bushes and trees right now. Besides, this is not the right time of year to be planting those things!

April 20th is looming…we must be done before then!

Leave a Reply

Categories

