Posted by: alwaysrkp | April 20, 2009

My “…ings”

I wish I had a digital camera of my own (rather than having to borrow My Man’s) and that I could had stunning picture taking abilities as so many other blog moms have.

On to thoughts that are better for the soul!

I am in the midst of reading 4 books (1 on prayer, 1 on being repentant, 1 on being content with the Lord – and doing the study portion of it, and “Ginger Pye” (Yes, this is C2’s book, but I love children’s literature). (yes, I do read a lot of books at one time – there are just so many awesome books out there that is hard to limit myself to just one at a time!)

Things from the first three of the books are all circling around in my head and heart, along with convicting thoughts from other blogs.

Here’s where I am thoughtfully and spiritually right now:

  • trying to be more worthy of being close to the Lord (i.e. doing the little things, trying to sin less, listening for the whisper of the Lord rather than waiting to be knocked off my feet spiritually in order to get the message)
  • realizing that I do not want to be like the Israelites, who were not allowed to even touch the mountain (Mount Sinai) when God’s glory descended.  I want to see God’s glory up close.  I want to hear his voice, know His will, experience his glory immensely.  I used to experience this more often than I do now, but I led a more disciplined life.  Bottom line: be more intentional and disciplined
  • wanting to be truly repentant for my sins (intentional and unintentional) and leave them behind
  • needing to find the time in my life to have personal, uninterrupted quiet time with my Lord most days, rather than only a few
  • desiring to have praise flow from my lips more often but even more from my life
  • But my best “…ing“:

“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.” Sisters, “I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of [all of] it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

– Philippians 3:12-14 (slightly edited by me, noted)

Leave a Reply

Categories

