Posted by: alwaysrkp | May 4, 2009

Missing My Mom

I have been quiet a lot lately…my man says so and from the looks of this blog – he must be right!

Five years ago today, on Tuesday, May 4th, 2005, we buried my mom.  I did mostly okay on the day she died, I almost cried once but managed to hold it in.  Today, I went to Hallmark to get a card for my dad’s birthday which is in two days.  I wondered why there were so many cars there at 10:20am on a weekday…

Unknowingly, I walked in.

Right onto the Mother’s Day Card aisle, where everyone was looking.

I managed to save my tears for the car, but just barely.

I have a wonderful mother-in-law and I did look for a card for her and a generic card for my Dad’s wife (the one he married two years after my Mom, his wife of 44 years, died).  But I cannot buy a straight-up Mother’s Day card – all those pretty cards and I have no mother.

Just for the record – I am glad my dad remarried.  I did not like him being lonely.

But I miss my Mom.  It seems only a short time ago that she died.  I miss knowing she is praying for me.  I miss being able to talk to the woman who had most of the answers.  I miss all the things we never got to do together.

If you still have your mother – appreciate it!  Make sure she knows how much you love her.  Make sure your children have the opportunity to know their grandma.  You can never get her back once she is gone.

Responses

  1. I can’t imagine how hard that was for you.

    I wrote my cleaning post knowing that my mom would read it and see how much I admire how much she does for me and for others.


Leave a Reply

Categories

