Posted by: alwaysrkp | August 18, 2009

How much have you surrendered?

This comes from a Sunday School lesson I did this week and have been trying to do for several weeks!

How much of you have you surrendered to God?

25%

50%

75%

90%

99%

???

Are there things that you need to let go of  in order to be able to let God have 100% of your life?  But wait, why should you give God 100% of your life?

Well “So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” (1 Peter 5:6-7)

If you will only obey me and let me help you, then you will have plenty to eat. But if you keep turning away and refusing to listen, you will be destroyed by your enemies. I, the LORD, have spoken!” – Isaiah 1:19-20 (NLT)

“Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” – Matthew 11:29

“All of my  ambitions, hopes and plans, I surrender these into your hands.
For it’s only in your will that I am free”

-Robin Mark, All For Jesus

And that’s just for starters.

Imagine the glorious possibilities of a totally surrendered life, one full of hope, joy love, peace, laughter, free from worries, cares, guilt, fear and/or shame.

So what do you need to give up?  A tv show, computer time, things you possess, – attitudes, thoughts, grudges, hurts, pain or pride?  Do you have desires, longings, dreams and plans that He wants you to surrender?  What about your children, spouse, friend or family member – have you turned them all over to Him?  Are you being called to surrender what your idea of life, home, work, school or church is?  Do you need to release your fears and worry – or the unknown?  Maybe it is your trust and faith that you need to let fly with the wind.  Maybe it’s your time, love or adoration.  What is it?

I released a bit of worry and fear that was hiding in my heart.  It was way back there – where no one but God could see it.  It was so far hidden that I did not realize it was there for a while.  But it was.  Like a black hole in my heart, it was there.  Oh, I trusted God…but I was afraid that His plans would not match mine at all – that they would not look anything like mine.  But the Lord wooed me and asked me to surrender – and I did.  Oh, how good it feels.  And I can’t wait to see just what He is going to do!

Leave a Reply

Categories

