Posted by: alwaysrkp | September 24, 2009

Praise God from Whom all blessings flow….

Oh, the truth in those words from the famous “Doxology”… For several weeks, the Lord has been prompting me to give Him praise during my daily devotions, throughout my day – just in general. Not thanks – but praise for His attributes.

See, we have been walking a long, arduous journey. The burdens have been many. We have prayed, pleaded, kept our heads up, had our heads down, known the Lord would work them out, doubted that He heard our pleas, been sure we were doing something wrong or missing something God wanted us to get, but sure we were listening…we have rode a roller coaster of emotions and spiritual battles.  All along the way, we were just so sure that there was something the Lord wanted us to “get” that we were not getting.

We moved into our house and as I was finally able to get back to having some time alone with the Lord, this prompting to praise grew and grew. I even felt the Lord prompting me to infuse the members of my household with praise for the Lord, with positive thinking and words – to get everyone doing these things. The Lord has begun to bless with me with little blessings of things I wanted but did not need. I have written about a couple, but there have been more than two. I wondered why these blessings were for me and not the entire household.

I began a Bible Study last week and we’re studying this:  The Lord had already started working on me about some of the issues addressed in this book. This week, we were on chapter two – and my group leader, Pam, spoke in the general session. Then her study outline for small group breakout was right on the money for me. The very things that the Lord had been whispering to my heart, were spoken aloud at the Bible study yesterday. Oh, what a blessing to me!

And a revelation – that “thing” that we were not getting – PRAISE…. “But thou art holy, thou that inhabitest the praises of Israel.” (Psalm 22:3 KJV).  Now the KJV is the only version that translates that verse that way and honestly, that is not the “best” translation of the verse. However, we also see the following: “Yet You are holy, O You who are enthroned upon the praises of Israel.” (Psalm 22:3 NAS)

There seems to be a movement of those who would “name it and claim it” that this verse means if we praise, blessings flow in all things and all our wants will be met. Far be it from me to make that claim.

However, the Bible is chock full of verses that tell us to PRAISE Him. Just open to the Psalms and you will find more than a blog could list. So, if we are instructed to do this so much, shouldn’t we? The Word does not just tell us to praise in good times, but to “give thanks always”. (Yes, I know there is a difference in giving thanks and praising.)

Here was our problem: Like a sponge, we had soaked up the negativity, frustrations, worries and problems that we have been surrounded by for almost three years. Yes, three years. But we should have been like David: “Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” (Psalm 43:5)

God showed me a couple of weeks ago that if I would squeeze out my sponge of all the negative, icky stuff – then soak up God’s Word, God’s music, and Praise – “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” (Philippians 4:8) – I would not be able to soak up the ick that surrounds me in this weary world because my sponge would just be full of God’s presence.

I began to praise God more, and I certainly have felt His presence more each day – and surely blessings have come. And I have no doubt that more blessings are on the way.

Does this mean that all our problems are resolved? No. But I have never doubted that God would work it all out in His own time…and I just know that since we “get it” now, that either a) some of the answers will come sooner or b) we’ll be at peace with waiting longer.

Either blessings of problems resolved… or blessings of peace. Either one sounds good to me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

