Posted by: alwaysrkp | November 17, 2009

Merry Thanksgiving…?

(no, I have NOT read the book and have NO idea what it says)

I know, EVERYONE has an opinion on this subject.

I love Autumn/Thanksgiving and Christmas and want both seasons to last as long as possible.

As a child, my favorite Thanksgivings were those that we spent listening to Christmas music (Nat King Cole and Bing Crosby to name a couple of our favs) and decorating the house for Christmas – which also included putting up the tree.  At the very latest, our tree and decorations went up the day after Thanksgiving.

We are having a few family members for Thanksgiving and my man really wants me to put up Christmas decorations NOW (days before my church peeps throw me a housewarming).  I want to do this, but in the back of my head, I hear critics saying “No one celebrates Thanksgiving anymore”…

Isn’t the thing that we should be MOST THANKFUL FOR –

Jesus’ coming to earth and taking the punishment for our sins?

Can we not eat Thanksgiving dinner to Christmas music while gazing at Christmas lights while giving our thanks and remembering that Christ loved us enough to leave a place so wonderful that we cannot fathom it heaven, to come to earth – for wretched sinners such as me?

how’s that for a run on sentence???  🙂

Just a thought.

Responses

  1. Hi Robin!
    I have never seen this book before. But I’m curious about it!
    We already have our Christmas tree up! Haven’t done all the other decorating yet, but we do have a tree! I love Christmas!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

