Posted by: alwaysrkp | January 21, 2010

Cold, Blue & Downcast

The coldness, blueness and darkness (but the possibility and slight hint of light) of this picture seem perfect for my topic today.

Winter Blues.

Days are shorter.  Temperature drops. Lack of sunshine on our skin. Tired. Lack of energy.  PJs and the couch. Dark and sad thoughts creep in.

Any of that sound familiar?

For me, it starts as a longing to stay in bed five more minutes.  Then I just want to stay home in the evening.  Next I want to stay home during the day.  Eventually my man will start to comment on my lack of “talking”.  I get very quiet.

To my credit, I DO go places and do things.  I M-A-K-E myself . I know I have to in order to get over being “blue”.  Sometimes I have to force myself to get off my rump and go somewhere.  I am always glad that I do, because getting out of the house helps.

I can hide this most of the time when I am not home b/c as long as I am around other people, it keeps me stimulated enough to ward it off.  I start not wanting to talk to anyone, but I quickly get over that.

At home though, hmm. The lack of external stimulation really sets in.  I do not want to call anyone, email anyone…and in the midst of my busy, tired, recovering from surgery holiday season, I did not want to blog either – after all, that’s another form of communication.

I have begun to feel the blue fog lift a bit.  This is good, maybe this spell of winter blues is about over for me.

Why must I go about mourning,
oppressed by the enemy?

3 Send forth your light and your truth,
let them guide me;
let them bring me to your holy mountain,
to the place where you dwell.

4 Then will I go to the altar of God,
to God, my joy and my delight.
I will praise you with the harp,
O God, my God.

5 Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.

Psalm 43:2a-5

Leave a Reply

Categories

