Posted by: alwaysrkp | April 12, 2010

April Showers

I have been silent W-A-Y long.  I had to take a blog break.  When things are so busy that I am falling behind in necessary things, something unnecessary must go…i.e. blogging (amongst other things).

I have missed my blog peeps.  But though I am back, I intend to pace myself.  I’m going to try to post when I definitely feel the urge.  I will only read when I definitely have the time.

As part of my endeavor to be more full of praise, joy, positive words and the like, I am pursing an attitude of gratitude for 30 days.  I am grateful but not as much as would be pleasing to the Lord.

As instructed in one of the devotions I am reading, I have started two lists of blessings: “Gifts from God” and “Gifts from Others”.  I am to add to the list as things come to mind.  So far, I have added the obvious big hitters: salvation, Christian home, husband, family, food, etc…

My devotions on the topic turned up an interesting thought today. The reading today suggested that we may overlook many things for which we should be thankful.

Ephesians 5:20a: “always giving thanks to God the Father for EVERYTHING”

There are many ways to apply EVERYTHING.  One example,: it could mean being thankful for those things which we do not like.  The intended application of my reading was this:

What if you only had tomorrow, those things which you had expressed thanks for today?

Hmm, sobering thought.

I know that we do not have to literally thank God every day for every single detail of our life.  But how many things do we take for granted?…toothpaste, green grass, the ability to smell, safe and secure housing, family, clothes…

My goal for today is to thank God for as many things as possible.  Everything I use, see, experience for one day…I want to be thankful to my caring Father in Heaven for showering me with blessings and for one day, shower Him with thanks.

Responses

  1. It was great hearing from you on my blog. I enjoyed Bible Study with you. Thanks for the reminder today to thank God for as many things as possible. So I am going to thank him for my house being turned upside down while they are installing new carpet! Have a great day.

  2. GREAT REMINDER! It’s all the little things God provides that add up to make our lives a symphony of praise, if we only take the time to notice them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

