Posted by: alwaysrkp | September 20, 2011

New Directions and the MCF

One year, one month and four days ago the Lord sent me back to work full-time.  That does not sound right, does it?  God sending a stay-at-home, part-time church staff employee back to a secular, full-time job? But He did.  My man is in school and cannot work as much but we own a home, have children and bills.  We need full-time income.  So God opened WIDE the door to a job that I was not even looking for.  All who know the situation have said “Wow, that was such a God thing”, including my pastor/former boss.

I have tried to balance work, household chores, my duties as wife and mother, church volunteer work, being a friend and meal planning/preparation.  The later has not gone too well. I generally get home at 5:30 or later…beginning meal planning at 5:30 (while my brain is not EVEN in home making gear) is tough.  Since we do not like to eat late, starting a complicated meal at that time is also out of the question.  Often it is 6:00 or later before I can even begin to figure out what the supper plan is.

After a very busy summer of working and intense VBS Directing/planning which greatly thwarted my supper making capabilities, I decided that I needed new supper strategies.

Did I mention that I married Mr. Picky?  I thought I was picky until I met him. NOT.  He does not eat broccoli, mushrooms, apples, crusts, raisins, cinnamon, garlic, alfredo sauce, salmon (or most seafood), does not like much beef or pork but also does not want chicken three or more times a week; he likes spaghetti but not pasta.

Did I mention that Mr. Picky and I begat Super Picky Son?  He does not eat mixed foods (like casseroles, soups, stews), cooked carrots, seafood, tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, cooked broccoli, lumps in his spaghetti sauce, seafood of any kind or spicy foods.  He will go hungry rather than eat something he does not like.

So meal planning and preparation are a huge challenge in my house.  It is not for the faint of heart!

I am attempting to do better at using my crock pot and rice cooker.  I am attempting to have a meal plan before I leave for work.  Some days I make two breakfasts (and coffee for me), two or three lunches and supper all before leaving for school carpool at 7:15am.  It’s tiring but those evenings are such a relief to me.

I decided that I needed a log of what works and what does not.  I need it all in one place.  For now, this blog is the place.

Stay tuned for the adventures of The MCF (Meal Challenged Family) starring Mr. P (Mr. Picky), SPS (Super Picky Son) and Me!

Responses

  1. WOW! I can’t imagine trying to prepare meals with those constraints! I am very blessed to be married to “Mikey”… he will eat (& enjoy) ANYthing!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

