Posted by: alwaysrkp | February 25, 2010

Face of Betrayal

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN: 978-1595548177
Paperback: 320 pages

My Rating: 5 of 5 stars

Thank you to BookSneeze for providing me a free copy to review.

The Christmas break disappearance of  17-year-old Senate page, Katie Converse brings three friends together to solve the mystery of her disappearance: FBI agent Nicole Hedge, federal prosecutor Allison Pierce, and TV reporter Allison Shaw.

The case soon draws national attention as the prime suspect is the U.S. Senator who sponsored Katie.  The three women are all but consumed by their efforts in solving this case, all while trying to deal with their own personal lives.

I was unsure of what to expect with this book and while I had heard bits of favorable reviews on television, I like to draw my own conclusions, so I began reading with a critical eye.

My critical eye was quickly changed into intrigue.  The topics touched upon the book are too numerous to name, but all give a moments look at problems and triumphs in our society.  It was like having a back stage pass to the media, the judicial system and the FBI.  The book maintained my interest and the suspense kept me turning the pages.  (The suspense was not frightening.)

As for spiritual references, there is a touch of Christianity in the book, presented in a non-threatening fashion for non-believers.  There is also a look at agnosticism and new age beliefs.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to read books that are informative,   suspenseful, fiction but true to life.


Responses

  1. Sounds like a good one to me!


Leave a comment

Categories