Posted by: alwaysrkp | September 21, 2011

We got off to a good start!

First let me say: Our camera D.I.E.D. As in DEAD. Three pairs of new batteries did not help. We have wanted a new camera but purchasing one this soon was not in our budget…hmmm. MAYBE in a couple of weeks we can rectify this situation. For now I will have to scavenge pictures.

Chef Salad, Lentil Soup & Whole Wheat Crusty Rolls

Chef Salad and Lentil Soup might be an odd combination but it worked.  Substitute any soup  – or skip it altogether.  Mr. P never likes one bowl suppers…he seems to feel he’s getting cheated, like I am not giving him enough food or enough options, so we had salad and soup.

This is the closest to how mine looked that I could find.

Chef Salad:

Baby Greens
Carrot shreds
Tomato wedges
Quartered, Boiled Eggs
Cheddar Cheese Strips
Lean Deli Ham (rolled and sliced)
Onion Slices (only for me, no one else eats them)
Real Bacon Bits
Food Lion Thousand Island Dressing**

 I also threw some avocado on mine because I did not want to waste it and most things are better with avocado, right? (Mr. P and SPS do not agree!)

Soup: Manishewitz Lentil Soup 

These great little soup mixes are MSG free and low sodium which means they are Me friendly*. They cook quickly and taste great.

Whole Wheat Crusty Rolls

What worked about the rolls was that they were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.  They went with both the salad and the soup splendidly.  A soft roll would not have done the trick.

MFC Summary:

This meal fell into the “Make it Quick” category.  I knew this was what I was making so I avoided the “what am I going to make for supper” dilemma. I had boiled the eggs before I left for work.  While the soup cooked on the stove, I assembled the salads and put the rolls in the oven.   Supper was ready in less than 30 minutes.

It had been a long time since I had a chef salad so I found it particularly good.  The guys both ate their salads without complaint. The soup was light and good.  Mr. P consumed his fair share.  SPS does not like most soups, particularly homemade ones but even he ate a small portion.   The rolls were perfect and all liked them. It was filling but did not leave us miserably full.

Disclaimers: Yesterday’s list of “won’t eats” was just the beginning…there’s more as you will see. SPS does not eat eggs or onions.  Mr. P is not fond of onions and does not eat them raw at all.

*MSG gives me migraines so we have to avoid it as much as possible. I have to keep my sodium intake below 1000/day.  Yes, more food challenges.

** We usually eat vinaigrette type dressings.  However, where I come from, it is not a chef salad without Thousand Island dressing. I am not a huge fan of Food Lion b/c of their limited selection of  “healthy” foods. They surprised me this time. As I perused the Thousand Island dressings, I found that the Food Lion brand (which did not claim to be low-fat) was actually lower in fat (at 6 grams) than some of the ones who made that claim. You can get “Fat Free” Thousand Island but they all looked gross.


Leave a comment

Categories